LumberJocks

More than I was looking for

  • Advertise with us
Review by HankLP posted 11-24-2018 07:11 AM 944 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
More than I was looking for More than I was looking for No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

THIS ROUTER IS BARELY A MONTH OLD AND THE MOTOR QUIT WORKING. GRIZZLY IS SENDING A RETURN MAILER FOR A REFUND. IT WORKED WELL OUT OF THE BOX, AND SEEMED LIKE A GOOD DEAL. GUESS I’LL BE LOOKING FOR ANOTHER ROUTER SOON. ANY SUGGESTIONS?

I almost always use the router table, but wanted a plunge router for a project I was working on. There are a lot of trim routers on the market now with plunge capability and 6 amp motors. The T27139 was the least expensive of the routers I looked at, and with the current sale price it was far below the rest. It is utilitarian, and probably not as smooth operating as the more expensive routers, but does include features one wouldn’t expect to find for the price point. This one comes with a fixed base, as well as the plunge base, variable speed (10,000 – 30,000 RPM) and also has a dust collection port for the fixed base. I’ve used it on two projects in the last moth, and now expect it will see much more use than anticipated. The power is ample for a 1/4” collet, and it is much quieter than I expected.

The first picture above is the T27139 used in my recently posted “SELF CENTERING MORTISE JIG” project.




View HankLP's profile

HankLP

81 posts in 700 days



8 comments so far

View runswithscissors's profile

runswithscissors

2892 posts in 2223 days


#1 posted 11-26-2018 12:43 AM

You beat me to it. I think the Grizzly trim router is as good as anybody’s, and the price is right. I like mine as a one-handed tool for edge profiling. Very quick to grab and put a bevel or round over on a board.

My only gripe is that the base plate does not accommodate the PC guide bushings. I have made auxiliary bases out of hardboard in situations requiring a busihing, or larger opening for wider bits, etc. I wish Grizzly would make available a base plate for the bushings.

Oh, one other thing: I’ve noticed that it gets uncomfortably warm when used steadily or frequently for a while. Don’t know how this compares to other brands.

-- I admit to being an adrenaline junky; fortunately, I'm very easily frightened

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

8549 posts in 2526 days


#2 posted 11-26-2018 08:39 PM

That’s a near perfect clone of the Makita and a great price.

-- I yam what I yam and that's all what I yam

View HankLP's profile

HankLP

81 posts in 700 days


#3 posted 11-30-2018 11:14 PM

THIS ROUTER IS BARELY A MONTH OLD AND THE MOTOR QUIT WORKING. GRIZZLY IS SENDING A RETURN MAILER FOR A REFUND. IT WORKED WELL OUT OF THE BOX, AND SEEMED LIKE A GOOD DEAL. GUESS I’LL BE LOOKING FOR ANOTHER ROUTER SOON. ANY SUGGESTIONS?

View dannmarks's profile

dannmarks

709 posts in 780 days


#4 posted 12-06-2018 08:52 AM

The fact that after a month Grizzly is working with you to resolve the issue is important. Just get another one and give it a chance. I have 2 cheap and I mean cheap Harbor Freight ones that have lasted years. The next one from Grizzly probably will last for years as well. Now that you peaked my interest I just ordered one myself to try out

View jutsFL's profile

jutsFL

85 posts in 39 days


#5 posted 12-09-2018 01:45 AM

I’m in need of a compact trim router… I’ll tell everyone- stay far away from the HF trim router – it WILL, over time , lose its ability to hold the up and down adjustment… Then in the middle of a project, it will shift .75” down in mid cut, just ask how I know ;)

I can not say the same about the HF 2.5HP fixed base router (.50in collet) – this thing has been a BEAST ! This machine runs Well, cuts with power and ease in all situations ive put it through. Id recomend that model to anyone. Depth adjusment is wonky, but it locks securely!

-- I've quickly learned that being a woodworker isn't about making flawless work, rather it's fixing all the mistakes you made so that it appears flawless to others! Jay - FL

View dannmarks's profile

dannmarks

709 posts in 780 days


#6 posted 12-09-2018 04:46 PM

My older harbor Freight Router is showing signs of fatigue as well. I have one router bit in it forever and now I simply do not move it up and down any more. I use it for a quick round over of edges. Think about it. It cost $29 and then you use a 25% coupon. The stupid thing cost $22 out the door. You can afford to make it a one set up router. They are light and just handy. These routers cost about the same a cheap dinner out by your self… In fact I have another one as well for a bigger radius round over that will never come out. I must have at least 6 different routers in the shop to be honest.

View Giturdone's profile

Giturdone

7 posts in 369 days


#7 posted 12-10-2018 06:38 AM

Review the Dewalt 611?

View dannmarks's profile

dannmarks

709 posts in 780 days


#8 posted 12-11-2018 12:02 PM

JutsFL is right comparing the new T27139 Grizzly router to the HF. The HR Router is a toy compared to the T27139. Just got it last night and I have to say it is really so much better for a trim Router. Now I expect the motor to last month. This thing a very serious item. Much heavier duty than I expected. This is a router that will perform and made to last, HankLP I will let you know if it stops working. Started a project last night but I only tried the router out on a Pc of Scrap pine so far.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com